A Stoddart in South America

Last day in Peru...

Tomorrow will be my last day in Peru. I am taking an overnight bus to Lake Titicaca where I will spend the day tomorrow. Some time in the afternoon I will cross the border and into Bolivia. Yet another new currency to get used to!

My time in Peru has been great! Really expensive but good fun! I'm glad I chose to travel around with Peru Hop. They have eased me into the whole backpacking gig and I am really gonna miss them organising everything for me! I met some really nice people in the Peru Hop buses, some of which I will undoubtedly bump into again. As it seems, I am not the only one travelling all the way from Peru to Brazil!

This weekend seems to be some kind of big celebration in Cusco. The main square is absolutely packed with brass bands, dancers, women and men in traditional clothing and lots of school children. Some of the dancers remind me of the Morris dancers that used to come to Barney when I was a child. Maybe it's something to do with the fact that it's 100 years this months since Machu Picchu was rediscovered? It's all very colourful!

What was my favourite thing I did in Peru? I've gotta say the dune buggy/sand boarding experience in Huacachina. I don't think I've ever laughed, screamed and cried so much in the space of a few hours! The train journey to Machu Picchu was also pretty awesome. I didn't expect the landscape of Peru to be anything like it ended up being. I guess that was the biggest surprise for me in Peru. The food hasn't been all that bad either... Especially the chicharrón with baked sweet potato I had alongside the motorway just outside of Lima. It came with 4 freshly baked pita breads, which only cost 1 Sol (€0.26) So far I haven't had any problems with the altitude (touch wood) other than just finding it generally harder to breath, but I'd be lying if I said I wasn't scared about heading to La Paz and the salt plains in Bolivia... In Peru I've only been at the higher altitudes for a few hours before going back down. In Bolivia I will be at high altitudes for a week to 10 days!

Reacties

Reacties

Yolande

Dear Claire
I love travelling with you. I was in Peru 32 years ago :)) a lot has changed. Nice to read your observations and have a great time in your next destination x

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!