A Stoddart in South America

Back home...

I’ve been back from my travels a few days now and I thought it would be good idea to have a bit of a look back at my time away.

Here are some things I've learnt:

  • Spanish. To a basic conversational lesson.
  • I love travelling more than I thought I did and I already thought I liked it a lot!
  • I am not very good a setting realistic budgets.
  • I am really terrible at sticking to budgets.
  • I'm really really bad at packing.
  • I can resist buying useless souvenirs more than I thought I could.
  • The ONLY thing I missed from home is my friends.
  • Wherever you are in the world you will always meet people that remind you of friends back home - whether it's their appearance or their personalities. Or both.
  • I am not as allergic to horses as I was as a child.
  • That I love horse riding.
  • Argentinian bbqs are THE best in the world.
  • Travelling alone is heaps of fun! And is never boring...
  • I HATE bunk beds - I hate climbing into them, I hate climbing (or more like falling) out of them and I hate the amount of bumps I have on my head from them.
  • Packing cubes are essential for such a long trip (and I wish I had some with me!)

And here are some things I will miss about travelling:

  • travelling
  • Argentinian steaks (thank god for Los Argentinos!)
  • Argentinian wine (ditto Los Argentinos comment)
  • freedom
  • Dulce de leche
  • the fact that it is acceptable to eat caramel for breakfast (see above point)
  • exploring new places
  • arriving somewhere for the first time
  • speaking Spanish
  • trying new/local foods
  • meeting new people
  • getting used to a new currency every other week
  • just aimlessly walking around a city
  • snowy mountains
  • Empanadas
  • Asado
  • my blog (strangely enough...)
  • beautiful photographic opportunities
  • learning new customs
  • learning about other cultures

I have had an amazing time while I have been away and I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog. I still have to sort through the photos on my camera and no doubt some of them will appear on my blog in due course…

But for now, this is my last blog entry! Don’t worry though… next trip is already in the pipeline!

Claire

Reacties

Reacties

Adam

Happy that you had a great time and that you made it back safely! :-)

Sam

YAY so glad you're home!!

Marie

Finally I got some time to read your last adventures! :-)
I'm so glad you enjoyed all of it and you will keep this memories for ever! Although, you should hold on to your writting because details are quickly forgotten and it's nice to read your own adventures again in a few years from now!
If you think Argentinian BBQs are the best, you should also try the Brai in South Africa, just to compare!:-P Maybe next destination in your list? You could use the Overlander Trucks: you are with a group of people which changes during your trip because people can join or leave the group at any city; you get to have a Brai very often; you can choose to sleep in a tent or in a lodge; and you get to see beautiful things along the way that you can take in pictures! ;-)
Welcome back home with the travelling bug and have fun planning your next trip! :-D

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!