A Stoddart in South America

Brazil - Rio De Janeiro - Sugar Loaf

After all the excitement of the favela tour I headed up to Sugarloaf Mountain (Pão de Açúcar) for the sunset. As I couldn't join a tour I was on my own. With public transport. In Rio. And they seem to have an incredibly illogical way of naming their buses. According to Google Maps I was looking for bus 581 but all I saw were buses with T2 or BRS3... I felt like I was waiting there for hours, when the buses were meant to go every 15 minutes! Eventually a 581 came and I hopped in. I knew my stop was the last stop before the bus did a u-turn and drove back, so that made knowing where to get out slightly easier...! At the entrance to the cable car there was a notice stating that due to construction works at the top, some areas were unavailable. What the sign should have said was: "Once you get to the top there will be no way of seeing the sunset or the Christ statue as that whole side of Sugarloaf is closed off for construction. And, yes, you still have to pay full price for your ticket!". Needless to say a lot of people were very disappointed when they got to the top and realised this. Myself included. I was stood next a group of Americans in the queue on the way back down and they had been up at the Christ statue but had decided to come over to Sugarloaf for the sunset. They would have been better off staying at the Christ! I did managed to get a couple of good photos... Although I do have to admit that some Photoshopping was required to remove cables from some of the images!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!