A Stoddart in South America

When ideas become reality...

So after some weeks/months of thinking, it has become reality! Flights are booked! I am heading to Central America to build a house! ARGH!!!

At the end of April I wil fly to Guatemala to commence the first part of my sabbatical! For the first month of my trip, I will be taking part in a volunteer project in Guatemala. Before I can start building I will be following an intensive Spanish course to get my Spanish skills up to scratch! I will be paying special attention to all of the construction terminology (the builders I will be working with do not speak a word of English!), but also generally polishing my Spanish so I can reap the benefits later in the trip when I head down to South America.

The idea of volunteering has been floating about in my head for a couple of years already. Maybe even longer, truth be told. I have always had this idea in my head that I wanted to work for a few years, make my millions (how was never quite clear), quit my job and travel around the World rebuilding homes/communities after natural disasters such as earthquakes, volcanic eruptions etc.. While I haven't (yet) made millions, neither have I quit my job to do this and Guatemala is not quite travelling the world... I have the opportunity to take an extended period of leave from work so I am grabbing this with both hands!

I have to raise a minimum of €400 for the project. I have created a JustGiving page in order to raise this money. The page can be found using this link:https://crowdfunding.justgiving.com/clairestoddart. If you would like to make a donation, any amount would be much appreciated! The money raised will be used for the construction of the house, to buy the materials used and to pay for the construction experts. Believe it or not they don't just let a bunch of volunteers with no building experience loose on someones house!

Over the next month I will be using this blog to talk about preparations for the trip (if there is anything intresting worth mentioning!) and to give an update on how much money has been donated. After the 30th April the blog will get more interesting when I actually start using it to blog about my trip and of course to share photos of the trip with you all!

Thanks for reading and feel free to check out the map with my proposed route (http://stoddart.reismee.nl/kaart/)!

Claire

Reacties

Reacties

Yolande

Dear Claire, I wish you a safe flight and a great start of your adventure in Guatemala. Besos a todos y que te vaya bien

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!