A Stoddart in South America

Hello Lima!

Monday was a travel day. It was going to take all day to get from Guatemala City to Lima via a 4 hour lay-over in Atlanta. But then we got delayed. On the taxi to the runway in Atlanta we stopped. And waited. Until the captain told us that there was a mechanical problem with the plane that meant we most likely had to go back to the gate. So we did. And hour and a half later and whatever problem fixed we left, hoping to make up some of the time mid-air. But we didn't. 1:30am I landed in Lima. Thankfully I had organised a pick up from the hostel and within 20 minutes I was at my hostel.

Tuesday was my day to explore Lima. But first task for the day was to book my onward trip. I've heard numerous good things about Peru Hop and their office just happened to be right next to the hostel. So off I went. 30 minutes later and a lot of information richer I left the office with my trip booked. Lima - La Paz over the course of about 2 weeks and stopping at all the highlights of Peru along the way. Including a dessert oasis, Nazca lines, a large canyon, Cusco (for Machu Picchu), lake Titicaca to name but a few! All in the comfort of a big air-conditioned coach!

But first Lima. I didn't really have any plans for Lima. My expectations were that it would be a generic, big city, one that you could find anywhere in the world. And that's how it started out. I walked around a lot of an area called Miraflores. It's kinda the main tourist area. It all felt very safe, but cold! Not what I expected! In the afternoon I headed towards the beach. I didn't actually get to the beach because there is a shear cliff face all the way along the coast. And to be frank, I couldn't be bothered to climb back up it! So I didn't go down it... But dotted all along the cliff top were these parks.

Each one slightly different. Some only had the occasional bench to sit on, surrounds by many palm trees. Others had lots of art sculptures. One even had a skate park.

The majority had wifi. That was something I noticed about Lima. How many parks, squares and sometimes even just streets have free wifi spots. My walk ended at a shopping mall built into the cliff face and overlooking the ocean. I spent a bit of time people watching here and watching the surfers below. Seeing as today would be my only evening in Lima and with Lima having such a reputation for food, I wanted to try ceviche. A dish of raw fish (and/or seafood) marinated in lemon juice and garlic so it slightly cooks the fish. It was delicious! And I am not a big fish person!

I could probably have spent another day wandering around Lima, taking a closer look at what it has to offer and maybe exploring other neighbourhoods, but it was either one day or three days (bus schedule) and of those one day fitted into the rest of my plan better!

And now, I am waiting for the bus to pick me up so I can head out of Lima and see what the rest of Peru has to offer!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!