A Stoddart in South America

Potosi - Ghost town??

Along my travels, everybody that I've talked to about Bolivia has said go to Potosi. Some people say stay there for a few days, others said a day was enough. So I broke up the bus journey to Uyuni by stopping in Potosi for 2 days. What have I found? A ghost town.

There are few people walking around the streets. Shops, cafes, bars and restaurants are closed for the majority. Even the market, which is usually the bustling centre for locals was all but deserted. It was because I was walking around at stupid o' clock in the morning. It was 1pm. Maybe it was siesta time? Or is it all about the mines here? The mines I don't want to go down because I am claustrophobic. And I've been down the coal mines at Beamish and the copper mine in Germany on the DataCo field trip, how different can these be? If the mines really are the only attraction here, it's going to be a very long 24 hour wait for my bus to Uyuni...

Reacties

Reacties

Marie

Good luck for the waiting in "Ghost Town"! :-S

Claire

I was talking to a guy in Uyuni who explained what was going on in Potosi. Apparently there is a conflict with the miners so all of the shops are closed. Until further notice. I wish I'd known that before I went there...!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!